top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

Cooking in Quarantine

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Like many, a lot of time has been spent at home. Which means I have a lot of time to learn something new. I have always enjoyed cooking. However, I have realized I am stuck in a rut with my cooking. Since I was challenged to learn something new I thought it was a good time to learn a new recipe.


Learning how to make perogies will be my new challenge. I chose perogies because I love my Polish heritage, it has always been a part of my life. To make this slightly more challenging, I am only going to use online resources. I plan to use social media, videos from Youtube, and affinity spaces to gather my information like a recipe. If you are not sure what an affinity space is, do not worry because I was too until I read an article from James Paul Gee. In the article, Gee (2018) defined affinity spaces as, “loosely organized social and cultural settings in which the work of teaching tends to be shared by many people, in many locations, who are connected by a shared interest or passion” (para. 2). An example of an online affinity space that I will be using is Reddit.



I started my journey by looking up recipes via Youtube. I chose to start with Youtube because you eat with your eyes first. The first video I found was How to make periogi dough. I found this video to be useful because as a visual learner it helped to provide images of what each step should look like. Although, the video also provided a challenge for me as well because the ingredients are listed using the metric scale which is something I am unfamiliar with. Follow me on Twitter @jansen579 to see my attempt at this recipe.


References

All Recipes UK | Ireland (2015, September 11). How to make pierogi dough. [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APNWxcEjtKo


Gee, J. P. (2018, February 26). Affinity spaces: How young people live and learn online and out of school. Phi Delta Kappan. http://www.kappanonline.org/gee-affinity-spaces-young-people-live-learn-online-school/


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page