top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

Survey Creation

As an educator, I feel like I am constantly being asked to complete different surveys. Taking all these surveys at times has seemed very monotonous and never is that high on my priority list but that is because I never really considered the survey creator's perspective until now. This week I was tasked with the challenge of creating a survey that would help me collect data I could use with my wicked problem. My wicked problem is focusing on how I can make more cross-curricular connections in my lessons. As a teacher, I feel like I am always running out of time to cover everything that I need to and have heard about how making connections across different subject areas can be very useful to help battle this time issue.



When it came to creating my survey I thought, “Oh no big deal. Let me just whip up a Google Form here really quick.” Boy! I was not prepared for what I was getting myself into. Survey design is no joke. According to Market Research Guy (2020) there are six considerations one should have when creating a survey. Those six considerations are: relevance, objectivity, clarity, the look and feel, your question structure, and the survey flow. I kept all of these in my mind when creating my survey. In particular the survey flow. When I was creating my survey I made sure to create pages that contained questions centered around a similar topic or that built off of each other. I felt this was important to do so that those who complete my survey can refer back to their previous answers if necessary. In the end, I decided to challenge myself a bit and create a Qualtrics survey that I can use to collect data on my wicked problem.


References


Jansen, C. (2021). Jansen Survey. [Screenshot].


Market Research Guy. (2020, July 7). Survey design best practices: How to write a good questionnaire. My Market Research Methods. http://www.mymarketresearchmethods.com/survey-design-best-practices/

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page