top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

What is Sketchnoting?

A quote from my reading this week really stuck out to me, “If your conscious mind puts a big question out there, chances are good that your unconscious mind will go to work on it” (Berger, 2014, p. 107). The reason why this quote stuck out to me so much is because I found it to play a role in my creation this week. When I first learned that we had to create a sketchnote this week I was not sure what a sketchnote was, but after watching Claudine Delfin’s Sketcho Frenzy: The Basics of Visual Note-taking, I had a much clearer picture in my head. However, I still had much hesitation in trying to create my notes in this way, especially because I lack confidence in my artistic abilities. This is where my quote, in the beginning, comes into play. I knew that I was not going to be able to create anything close to what was shared in Delfin’s video so all week intentionally and unintentionally I brainstormed how I would make this creation. I would catch myself throughout the week thinking about different approaches I could take and what my process would look like. Eventually, I came up with an idea I liked and I went with it. Take a look at my finished product below.

Overall, this was not an easy process for me and I have a hard time seeing myself implementing in-depth sketchnoting in my classroom. However, I do see myself encouraging my students to use more doodles that will help them to have a better understanding of the content.


References


Berger, W. (2014). A more beautiful question: The power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas. New York, NY: Bloomsbury.


Delfin, C. (2012, January 7). Sketcho frenzy: The basics of visual note-taking. [Video]. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gY9KdRfNN9w


Jansen, C. (2021, July 25). Questioning Sketchnote. [Video]. https://youtu.be/idqIygeNRj4

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page