top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

Do We All Learn the Same?

Even if you are not an educator many people know the answer to that question is no, everyone does not learn the same. If everyone does not learn the same then how do you make sure that everyone learns? As an educator, I have always strived to do what I can to help my students learn.


Spending time learning about Intersectionality and Universal Design for Learning helped me to continue my efforts to help my students. According to Kimberlé Crenshaw (2018), Intersectionality is a metaphor for understanding the ways multiple forms of inequality sometimes compound themselves to create obstacles (0:12). Moving forward I not only want to keep Intersectionality in mind when lesson planning but also Universal Design for Learning or UDL.


UDL is something that I was somewhat familiar with but had not really dived into yet. UDL is meant to “minimize barriers and maximize learning for all students” (CAST, 2020, 0:45). In order to minimize these barriers, there are three design principles to consider: representation, action and expression, and engagement. If UDL is new to you do not get overwhelmed by the idea of it. For many educators, the principles of UDL are things that they have been doing. Check out my infographic below that outlines these principles.


Using these ideas of Intersectionality and Universal Design for Learning I hope to better support my students so they can be successful learners.


References



Crenshaw K. (2018). What is Intersectionality?. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViDtnfQ9FHc


Jansen C. (2020). Universal Design for Learning Poster. [Image]. Canva.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page