top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

Looking Back

A little over a month and a half ago I was challenged to take a photo and/or video every day. At first, I thought “oh this will be easy” I use Snapchat every day and can save one of those photos. WRONG! A few days later I realized I forgot to save some of the photos I had taken. I did not give up. I took a new approach. I set an alarm on my phone to go off every day at six in the evening. That way if I had not already taken a photo that day I could snap a photo then and there of what I was doing.


Before I share my thoughts, stop reading, and watch my video Photo a Day. How would you describe the person based on what you saw?

Looking over the photos I saw that the photos represent who I am. A person who enjoys being outdoors, loves dogs, and eating. All of those things can easily be seen in my photos. However, something that can not be so easily “seen” but that is definitely prevalent in my identity is one as a maker. Unfortunately, my photos only showed my finished products and not the process it took to get there. I made some delicious-looking food, designed and painted some cornhole boards, stained some benches, and explored how I could use Makey Makey in my classroom.


The more I rewatch my video with different lenses. It helps me to see myself in different lights and how intersectionality plays a role in my life.


References


Jansen C. (2020). Photo a Day. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xNFLeND3uw&feature=youtu.be

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page