top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

Transfer? What is Transfer?

Updated: May 25, 2020




Most teachers want their students to be able to make connections and carry learning from day to day and year to year. I am no different, I do not want my student’s learning to be a “one and done”. Recently, I read some chapters from Bransford, Brown, and Cocking's (2000) How People Learn. From these chapters I learned that these connections are made through an aspect called transfer.



I wanted to take a more in depth look at this idea of transfer, that led to me diving into Bransford, Brown and Cocking’s (2000) How People Learn and how they define transfer. You can find my Essay here, where I took this in depth look and discovered transfer is defined as the ability to take learning from one context to a new context. Transfer does just occur in classroom contexts but in real world context as well. That idea of transfer into a real world context is what educators what for their students. Moving forward in my career I hope to be more conscious of this idea of transfer so that I can best support my students. Feel free to leave a comment or post any questions you have either in response to this post or follow me on Twitter @jansenc579.


References

Bransford, J., Brown, A.L. & Cocking, R.R. (2000). How people learn: Brain, mind, experience and school. National Academy Press. http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368.


Image Credit


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page