top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

What is 21st Century Learning?

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

Trying to define 21st century learning is difficult because it is constantly changing. However, I have discovered three commonalities when asked, “What is 21st century learning?”

  1. Student Centered Learning

  2. Students are Globally Involved

  3. The Four C’s: Critical Thinking, Creativity, Communication, and Collaboration

It surprised me to see that one of the common themes in 21st century learning was not technology specifically. It seems like I have always heard that the 21st century was the era of technology, and while that may be true it is not true in the case of a 21st century learner. A quote from Sara Hallerman et al. (2019) that really stuck with me was, “When [21st century learning is] done correctly [it] creates an environment in which engaged students are actively shaping their learning” (para. 5). This quote stuck with me because it leads to the aspect of student-centered learning. In my classroom, I have noticed more engagement with my students when they have that control over how and what they are learning.


After, spending some time looking at what 21st century learning is, I realized that there are a lot of things I am already doing within my classroom and that there are areas I can still improve upon. However, I struggle with the idea that 21st century learning has many different definitions and is constantly changing. If I am to keep up with 21st century learning and incorporate its ideas into my classroom, how do I best do so? Watch the video below on 21st century learning to see what ideas I have about better incorporating 21st century learning into my classroom. If you have an idea of how I can incorporate 21st century learning into my classroom please share it with me on Twitter @jansen579.



References

Hallerman, S., Lewis, C., & Dresbach, B. (2019, April 23). What is a 21st century education? https://www.battelleforkids.org/learning-hub/learning-hub-item/what-is-a-21st-century-education


Jansen C. (2020, June 7) 21st Century Learning. [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AN6dKxJGLy8&feature=youtu.be&hd=1


Stauffer, B. (2020, May 07). What Are the 4 C's of 21st Century Skills? [Image]. https://www.aeseducation.com/blog/four-cs-21st-century-skills

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page