top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlie Jansen

First Attempt

Updated: Jun 22, 2020

If you read my post Cooking in Quarantine, you will know that I decided to take on the challenge of learning how to make homemade perogies. This week I completed my first attempt and it went surprisingly well.


After searching through several resources there were two that I found to be the most helpful. A YouTube video on How to make pierogi dough and a Reddit post from user blackpercula. The Reddit post was helpful because it had simple recipes that provided measurements using a system that I was familiar with. The YouTube video helped to provide images of what the hand kneading process for the dough would look like which was very helpful because every other recipe that I had found said to use a dough hook and I did not have that.

Before starting I was a little concerned about the kneading processing but once I started I had “the ability to extend what had been learned in one context to a new context” (Bransford et al., 2000, pg. 51). While kneading the dough it brought back knowledge that I had of how to knead clay and I used a very similar technique to get that smooth dough I was looking for.

One challenge that I faced was when I was rolling out the dough and trying to make sure they each came out to the same thickness. I was unsuccessful with that this time around so that is something that I can improve upon next time. Overall, the finished product was edible and looked like a pierogi so I would call that a success.


Resources


Bransford, J., Brown, A.L. & Cocking, R. R. (2000). How people learn: Brain, mind, experience and school. Washington D.C.: National Academy Press. http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368


Jansen C., (2020, June 14). Knead Away. [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3Yu7tZRpQo


Jansen C., (2020, June 13). Before. [Image]


Jansen C., (2020, June 13). Finished Pierogi. [Image]

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page